Fatma about EVS

Salut everyone, from the beautiful city of Piatra Neamt🙂

It’s Fatma from Konya, Turkey. Maybe you don’t know  where that is. Let’s see where my home city is🙂 It is in the middle of Turkey, it’s one of the largest cities in my country and shares a border with Ankara. For further information, you can check the Wikipedia page regarding Konya: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Konya

Now for a little bit about myself🙂 I’m 23 years old and I graduated from the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics of Istanbul University in 2012🙂 As you can see, after graduation I was accepted for an EVS volunteering stage at the CREED Romania NGO. Before graduation, I didn’t want to start my professional life or my master’s degree. I wanted to clear my mind and take some time off before entering years of more school education .

I had previously heard of this program from my room-mate in the dormitory. She went to Poland as an EVS volunteer. Even if she was (: a short-term EVS Volunteer, she returned home happy🙂 Therefore, I decided to apply for an EVS program as well. If you want to ask me how I decided on the place, project, and so on, know that, first of all, it’s important to find a suitable host organisation for your EVS adventure. Personally, I checked out all the projects on Alternatif’s website (For Alternatif check out: http://goo.gl/7vzq0).

Secondly, I applied to the projects that lasted for a minimum of 8 months. The countries were Italy (Cagliari), Latvia and Romania (Baia Mare). I wasn’t chosen for the projects, but then my coordinator called me for another project, from Piatra Neamt, which would take 6 months. I immediately said yes, without hesitation. Of course, I had known how long a time I would have to wait to be able to come to Piatra Neamt. Unfortunately, EU countries require Turkish citizens to have a visa. The visa procedure is really hard, due to bureaucratic reasons. If you are a citizen of certain EU countries, it’s so easy to go to other EU countries without visa procedures. It’s really a double standard.

Okay, I should stop talking about bureaucratic things. I came here on the 4th of October 2012, on a Thursday night, having traveled by train from Bucharest. Some great people were waiting for me at the train station. I was a little bit exhausted and I had worries about communicating in English. The restaurant where we had dinner was great! Adrian, Gianina and Ramona were so kind to me. At this moment, I understood that I would be working with great colleagues. It was a really nice impression for me

The following day, we went to Bicazu Ardelean for a Down syndrome activity. The activity concerned Down syndrome kids, their families and awareness on the subject.🙂 This meeting was in Romanian and of course I didn’t understand anything. I only tried to catch some international words and my mentor, Simona, translated during all the sessions. I would realize in the following days that she really is an angel🙂

The day after, some new traveling was in store for us. The next stop was Durau. Yeap! Another new project! But the topic was different from the previous. We got together with young people who were high school students. Non-formal education is great for youngsters. The major topic was the Living Library (Biblioteca Vie). Also, you know, when you’re in school, it’s normal to be bored of lessons. But if you’re in non-formal education, it’s impossible. The youngsters were really lucky to have nice trainers like Adrian. On that day, I learned a few words related to the library and basic conversational phrases in Romanian. But my favorite word was cititor🙂 I should write here the names of some friends: Catalina, Ana, Alexandre, Robert, Sorina, Ana-2, Stefan, Dani and so on. (sorry, I really don’t remember the names of the others).

Below are a few pictures from the day.

Carte-Vie-1

Picture 1: (from when I was trying to introduce myself)

Carte-Vie-2

Picture 2: with Ana (she was a translator)

Carte-Vie-3

Picture 3: Invitation to the Living Library.

PMP_0286

Down Sindrom Activity

If you ask me what my main area as an EVS volunteer is? It’s all about kids, teenagers and other projects.  Thank you for reading J My next article will come soon😉 Fatma Akın.

Author Fatma Akın

Article supervised by Raluca Chifu

Salut tuturor,din frumosul oraș Piatra Neamț

Sunt Fatma din Konya,Turcia. Poate nu știți unde se află acest oras. Vă invit să vedeti unde se afla orașul meu natal J .Acesta este situat  în mijlocul Turciei, este unul din cele mai mari orașe din țară  si se învecinează cu Ankara. Pentru mai multe informații, puteți accesa pagina Wikipedia  ce ofera informații despre Konya::http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Konya

E timpul să va spun câte ceva si despre mine J Am 23 de ani și am absolvit Universitatea din Istanbul, mai precis Departamentul de Biologie moleculară și genetică în 2012 J.După cum puteți observa, după absolvire am fost acceptată pentru un stagiu de SEV (Serviciul European de Voluntariat) la CREED România. Înainte de absolvire, nu am vrut să-mi încep viața  profesională sau masterul. Am vrut să-mi pun în ordine gândurile și să-mi iau puțin timp liber înainte de a-mi continua studiile.

Am auzit de acest program de la colega mea de cameră din camin. Ea a mers în Polonia ca voluntar SEV.Chiar dacă  stagiul ei a fost pe termen scurts-a întors acasă fericită. Astfel, am decis să aplic pentru un stagiu SEV.Dacă vrei să mă întrebi cum m-am decis în privința locului, proiectului și așa mai departe, trebuie să știi că, înainte de toate este important să găsești o organizație de trimitere adecvata pentru aventura ta ca voluntar SEV. Personal, am  verificat toate proiectele de pe site-ul organizatiei Alternatif (pentru Alternatif uită-te pe: http://goo.gl/7vzq0 ).

În al doilea rând, am aplicat pentru proiecte ce aveau o durata de minim 8 luni. Țările în care se derulau proiectele au fost Italia (Cagliari), Lituania și România (Baia Mare). Nu am fost aleasă pentru aceste proiecte dar mai târziu coordonatorul meu mi-a sugerat un proiect în Piatra Neamț care urma să dureze 6 luni. Imediat am acceptat, fără a ezita. Bineînțeles,am știut cât de mult timp aveam să aștept ca să pot ajunge în Piatra Neamț. Din păcate,tările UE cer ca cetățenii din Turcia să dețină o viză. Procedura pentru viză este una foarte dificilă datorită birocrației. Însă daca ești cetățean al țărilor UE este foarte ușor să mergi în alte țări din UE fără procedurile pentru viză. este un beneficiu imens. Okay, este timpul să mă opresc să vorbesc despre chestii birocratice. Am venit aici pe 4 octombrie 2012, într-o seară de joi, după ce am călătorit cu trenul de la București. Niște oameni minunați m-au așteptat în gară.

Eram puțin obosită și îngrijorată de faptul că trebuia să comunicăm în limba engleză. Restaurantul unde am luat cina a fost minunat ! Adrian, Gianina și Ramona au fost drăguți cu mine. În acel moment am înțeles că voi  lucra cu niște colegi minunați. Mi-au facut o impresie buna. În ziua următoare, am mers la Bicazul Ardelean pentru o activitate despre Sindromul Down. Activitatea a avut ca temă copiii cu Sindrom Down, famiile lor și conștientizarea pe acest subiect. La această întâlnire s-a vorbit în limba romana și bineînțeles, nu am înțeles nimic. Am încercat însă să învăț câteva din cuvintele internaționale și mentorul meu, Simona, mi-a tradus pe tot parcursul activităților. În următoarele zile aveam sa realizez că este într-adevăr un înger J.

Ziua urmatoare a adus o noua călătorie . Oprirea a fost la Durău.Da! Încă un proiect nou ! Dar tema a fost diferită de cea precedentă. Am fost împreună cu tineri care încă erau elevi la liceu. Educația non-formală este foarte bună pentru tineri.Tema principală a fost Biblioteca Vie. Astfel, știi că atunci când esti la școală,este normal să te plictisești la lecții.Dar  in cadrul educației non-formală este imposibil.Cei tineri au fost foarte norocoși pentru că l-au avut ca trainer pe Adrian.În ziua aceea am învățat câteva cuvinte referitoare la bibliotecă și câteva fraze de bază în română.Dar cuvântul meu preferat a fost ”cititor” J Ar trebui să scriu aici numele catorva prieteni pe care mi i-am facut Cătălina, Ana, Alexandre, Robert, Sorina, Ana-2 ,Ștefan, Dani and so on (îmi pare rău ca nu îmi amintesc numele celorlalți ).

Dacă mă întrebați care a fost ocupația principală ca voluntar SEV, ei bine totul este despre copii, adolescenți si alte proiecte. Mulțumesc pentru atenție J Următorul meu articol o să apară curând😉 Fatma Akin.

Autor Fatma Akın

Articol tradus de Răzvan Juncu

Articol corectat de Simona Gherasim

Lasă un răspuns

